Aromatic soup!

The other day I decided to use up some carrots and butternut squash we had in the fridge and made a soup. I had some stock in the freezer left over from doing a roast gammon a while back. The stock was very aromatic – it was the water I had boiled my piece of smoked gammon in, along with some star anise, cinnamon stick, chilli flakes and peppercorns. It had a salty, gammony, spicy goodness about it.

I peeled and cubed the vegetables and fried it off in a pan with some butter and some sticks of fresh ginger. I also added some ground ginger, ground cinnamon and white pepper – although to be honest it probably didn’t need the white pepper or the ground ginger as it had a lot of gingery peppery flavour – a little too much for me (but I am a bit of a wimp when it comes to hot flavours.)

I then covered the vegetables with the stock and let come to the boil and simmer for a while until the vegetables were cooked through. Then I blended it all down with a hand blender and added some mascarpone cheese. After a taste test it just needed something a bit sweet to counter the saltiness so I put some maple syrup in – perfect!

To serve it I put a small blob more mascarpone in. I think if I made it again I might perhaps just stick with the fresh ginger and leave out the pepper and ground ginger and maybe more veg or less stock as it was a bit thin, but still tasty!

With the soup that is left I am thinking of combining it with some ground toasted cashew nuts and maybe some toasted spices like cumin and some tomatoes and some fried chunks of paneer for an aromatic curry.

Image

2 thoughts on “Aromatic soup!

Leave a Reply

