Cardamom Banana Bread with Dark Chocolate

Now, most people who know me know that I really don’t like bananas. I dislike raw banana, banana flavoured things and smoothies with banana in (it’s all I can taste!) but weirdly I don’t mind eating banana bread.

I don’t think I have ever actually made it myself before. My Mum used to make a nice banana bread, and usually if we have any bananas going manky then my husband will knock up a loaf. This week my best friend Dom (from Kingdom of Appetency) kindly gave me some devils fruit that was on the turn. A couple of years ago I had been watching a River Cottage spin off – Three Go something or other. One episode had a rather yummy sounding spiced banana cake recipe. As usual with most recipes we’ve tried we’ve tweaked it a bit to suit our tastes etc.

So last night I made a loaf and it turned out rather nice!

Image

Mmmm tasty!

The basic recipe is:

250g of self raising flour

175g light brown soft sugar

100g butter (the original recipe states to use unsalted butter but has a generous pinch of sea salt – we found this to just be a bit too salty so just opted to use salted butter.)

20 cardamom pods (this is the original recipe but we also have some ground cardamom and I used two teaspoons)

100g dark chocolate (either chips or chopped up) (I didn’t quite have 100g but I had 60g of Green & Blacks Dark Chocolate with Lemon which I used instead.)

3 bananas (the original recipe is 2 but I used three in mine)

1 egg – beaten

1 tablespoon demerara sugar for the top

Method:

Preheat oven to 180C (fan assisted)

Sift the flour in with salt (if using) and ground cardamom (if using cardamom pods – split them and take out the seeds and toast lightly before crushing into a powder). Then chop the butter into small pieces and add to the flour and rub in with your fingers until it resembles breadcrumbs. Mix in the light brown sugar and the chocolate pieces. Then mash up the bananas (not too much – keep some texture) and mix in the beaten egg. Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture and then pour in the banana mush and mix in and beat together until all well combined then pour into a lined loaf tin. Smooth the top with a spatula and then sprinkle the demerara on top. Pop into the oven and bake for at least 45 mins – but in reality mine took more like just over 1 hour. Keep testing with a skewer to see if it comes out clean – when it does you know it is ready.

We love it nice and warm from the oven with some butter on. But equally nice cold (also with butter on!)

10 thoughts on “Cardamom Banana Bread with Dark Chocolate

      • Sounds like a good idea. We don’t often have bananas either as I won’t eat them usually. If we do its usually just the odd one or two for my stepson, otherwise we would have to make banana bread more regularly with all the rapidly browning fruit!

Leave a Reply

