Fleeced by an eBay seller…

Last week I ordered a fleece scarf on eBay with a view to use it to make things. I had opted for a nice teal / turquoise kind of colour and was looking forward to receiving it. So imagine my surprise (several days later and much longer than I was expecting to have to wait) when a dark navy blue scarf greeted me when I opened the package. I immediately contacted the seller to let them know I had been sent the wrong colour and asked if they wanted me to return the incorrect item. (The listing itself had a drop down box for colour but this only contained the option ‘scarf’ which is most helpful but when I paid I stated the colour I wanted.) Several days later and I had no reply and I was about to contact eBay about it (as my contact about the incorrect item had automatically opened an eBay case) when I had an email informing me I had been refunded. No communication at all from the seller, so I didn’t end up with the item I wanted, but at least now I had some navy blue fleece for free. It wasn’t exactly a colour I thought of getting. It was so dark that I was mulling over what I could make with it.

Today I ended up looking through some of my craft books and found my copy of Make Your Own Soft Toys by Rob Merrett and there was one toy in there – Ruby the Daschund which got me thinking (if you look on the Amazon page and do ‘Look Inside’ a picture is on the second preview page.) So I did a rough sketch as the pattern pieces were pretty big and I didn’t want to make something as big as that. I wasn’t sure whether or not to do the rounded base but glad I did in the end.

I have made this to give to my lovely nephew who will be three next week, so lets hope he likes it! The arms and legs are nice and floppy and he is nice and soft!

Image

Image

I have now ordered some turquoise (and some lime green) fleece from another source so watch this space for some other items!

4 thoughts on “Fleeced by an eBay seller…

Leave a Reply

