A slump and some choirboys…

This week I found some reduced raspberries and blueberries in the local supermarket and I had an idea to make one of my favourite autumntime warming puddings – a slump. A slump is a bit like a cobbler, with a fruity compote type base with a scone type topping.

I heated up the punnets of raspberries and blueberries in a saucepan with some caster sugar and water and one star anise and let it come to the boil before transferring it into a small dish to cool. I then set to making the scone topping using self raising flour, baking powder, sugar, melted butter, a little salt and some lime zest and juice. I mixed it to a soft dropping consistency careful not to overwork it and set it aside for a moment. I then got a tub of mascarpone cheese and took half and mixed it with some caster sugar and placed some blobs of it on top of the cooling fruit and topped them off with blobs of the scone mixture. I popped it into an oven at 200 degrees (or 180 for fan assisted) for 25 mins or until the scone topping is a nice golden brown.

It is like having scones with jam and cream but hot and slightly sloppy but lovely! I like to use the remainder of the mascarpone to blob into the hot pudding once divvied out into the bowls.

Image

As for the choirboys – along the same lines of the angels I made recently – here is a cute little set of felt choirboys mid-Christmas Carol…

Image

2 thoughts on “A slump and some choirboys…

Leave a Reply

